iMD RiDER: Edward “Wonka” LaForte

Now that Ed is an official member of the iMD family, it’s our duty to properly introduce him. Get up close and personal after the jump.

Age 22
Birthday Septemper 5, 1989
Hometown Staten Island, New York
Favorite candy bar Lindt Milk Chocolate Truffles

How long have you been riding?
I started riding fixed when I was a bike messenger in early 2007. I was delivering “pizza” in NYC for 3 years. I’ve been riding fixed for 5 years.

What do you like most about riding?
I love lining up my tricks and figuring out the footing to land a trick.

What places have you ridden?
I’ve rode all around the world. All over Europe like Italy, Switzerland, Germany, and Portugal and in Asia, I’ve been to Japan and Thailand. My favorite place out of all them would probably have to be Portugal.

What’s your favorite trick? 
I love giant, steep, do or die rails.

What are your favorite places to ride?
San Jose all day. I love the vibe that San Jose and all the kids have. There’s a lot of motivation for me out here.

If you could eat one thing for the rest of your life, what would it be?
Chinese food!

What are some of your other hobbies?
Art, skateboarding, hanging out with my lady and playing with my puppy, Shades.

Is there one incident/event you had while riding that sticks out from the rest?
In February of 2008 when I was a bike messenger in NYC, I got hit by a van head on at 40 mph. I broke both sides of my jaw and cracked my chin in half. It destroyed some of my mimetic muscles so I lost feeling to the whole right side of my face. I broke my foot so I couldn’t walk for a while. And I took all the metal out of my mouth on my own which didn’t help out the situation. But that experience changed my life. I don’t know how exactly, but it did.

What do you like most about riding for iMiNUSD?
The fact that we’re all a big, bad family.

Now say something nice about one of the other iMD riders.
Scott Horton doesn’t eat any vegetables. Period.


Leave a Reply

