Globe Roll by Garrett Chow


Globe Roll by Garrett Chow

We received a nice surprise earlier today by some of our friends over at Globe and got a sneak peak of the fully custom Globe Roll 1, hand painted by Garrett, which is to be given away at next weekends NAHBS festivities in Richmond, VA. Let me tell you, this thing is sick. Chub Hubs, 75’s, Nitto, and MKS make this Roll perfect. The paint job on it is absolutely perfect. So many different types of paint. The contrasts between the gloss and the matte is Amazing. Garrett, I’m coming to drop off my frame. 🙂

Don’t miss the NAHBS festivities next weekend.

Globe Roll by Garrett Chow

Globe Roll by Garrett Chow

Globe Roll by Garrett Chow

Globe Roll by Garrett Chow

Globe Roll by Garrett Chow

Globe Roll by Garrett Chow

11 responses to “Globe Roll by Garrett Chow

  1. Can you clarify what “fully custom” means in this context? It seems to me that calling a bike that isn’t fit to the rider and built to their specifications “fully custom” is a bit anomalous, especially in relation to the stuff that’s going to be shown at NAHBS. Or maybe I’m missing something – is that indeed the bike that’s going to be given away, or is it an example of what the winner has to choose from?

  2. Sam Allgood

    dude its fully custom because garrett hand painted the frame, picked out all the components, and built it to his specifications. anything can be custom without being a ‘perfect fit’
    this aint for you anyways, so its not worth worrying ’bout terminology.

  3. Sam-

    If I’ve offended you I apologize; I’m just trying to understand what this is about. I think it’s a totally cool bike, but to me “fully custom” means designed, fitted and built up to a customer’s specs. I build both custom and production bikes. The production bikes are totally handmade and take a lot of work. The paint jobs, graphics, and component selections are all things I take a lot of time working on, and I guarantee you that all of it is done by hand. But they’re still stock bikes, and I let my customers know that. That’s how I’m able to charge less for them, and how I’m able to sell them as-is on a moment’s notice instead of on a 6-8 week lead time.

    I understand that not everyone shares my definition of “custom,” but then it seems odd to me that this is happening right next to NAHBS – where I think you’ll agree that my definition will be the norm.

    I also don’t understand why you think this bike “aint for me.” I think it’s a cool bike, and it’s very similar to the bike that I’m currently riding the most. I hope you’re not suggesting that I can’t appreciate the amount of work and effort that went into the bike – or maybe you’re saying I’m ineligible for the competition?

    Again, if I’ve offended anyone I apologize. I deal with words like “custom” and “handmade” all day, and was confused at their usage here.

    Spencer Wright

  4. Spencer-

    Sounds like you’re thinking about this waaaay too much.

    It seems they are using the word “custom” here because it has been hand painted, and has a ton of upgrades… it’s a one of a kind Globe Roll that you can’t buy in a store. If you have a better word to describe the bike other than “custom”, throw it out there.

    Back to the bike… it is awesome!

    marrrrk.

  5. no spencer, you hit the nail on the head. custom means alterations that the buyer/recipient makes or decides on themselves. not something assembled slightly differently than the rest with parts off the shelf. if the cranks were engraved, hoops were one-offs, or other parts were altered in some way, then yes, it would be more custom. as would building the frame to suit the recipient. the paint is rad though, and if a label is needed for this particular bike i would call it a one-off.

  6. marrrrk-

    Next week I’m starting work on a new bike. It’s a 953 frame that I’m machining special stainless steel braze-ons and frame parts for. I’m building it up with an Alfine group that I’ve been working out the kinks on for months. I’ll hand-cut a head tube badge for it and make up stencils to bead-blast graphics directly onto the tubes. It will get a King headset, Thomson hardware, and probably a White Brothers fork (I’ve been debating the fork for a long time) that I’ll alter in order to better suit my design. I’ll hand-bend and TIG weld a stainless steel rack that’s designed specifically to fit an Ortlieb waterproof box to, via a quick-release mounting system that I’ll design and fabricate myself.

    This is a show bike. It’s built around my body size and my personal specs for a bike of its type, but I won’t ride it. I’ll post pictures of it online for people to ogle at, maybe put it in a LBS for folks to check out. It’ll be worth thousands of dollars in materials and countless hours of labor. I won’t try specifically to sell it, but if someone asks then I’ll definitely quote them a price. And that price will be significantly less than if they were to come to me and ask for a custom bike – even if it was identical to this one in almost every respect – because each of this bike’s attributes will be set in stone. It’ll be a stock bike (a very, very special one), built to *my* specifications, not theirs.

    Maybe you’re right, and I’m thinking about this too much. But in my market, to my customers, “custom” means “you get to customize it.” I’m not saying that this Globe is *any* less cool for not being custom. But if *I* won a custom bike and it turned out I was limited to, say, Chub hubs instead of Phils, or 75s instead of Profiles, or a gray/black color scheme instead of Prolly Purple, then I don’t think I’d be out of line to question the semantics of “custom.”

    Like I say, I don’t mean to offend anyone. The bike looks great, and if it was a 56-57 and I wasn’t building custom frames myself, I would probably really want it. It’s just that to me, “custom” is shorthand for “customizable,” not “already customized.” If that’s out of line, forget I said anything.

    Spencer Wright

  7. smoke some weed and chilllllllll out maaaaaan. who gives a shit about custom and what it means

  8. I think Spencer is right. He gives a shit about “custom” because its what he does. When you call this one-off bicycle “custom”, you give it value that originates in the work of Spencer and builders like him.

    I can see why you say terminology doesn’t matter in this case – using “fully custom” in this case is to the benefit of everyone except Spencer (and other custom builders).

    The paint is the only thing about this could be called custom.
    The Flicker link says the frame is a Globe Roll 2 Large: aka stock
    The parts are all ordinary stock parts – I hope they didn’t loose too much sleep deciding between black and silver. All they did was pick parts from a catalog and bolted them on – there are virtually no compatibility issues attaching parts to a brakeless track bike

    That being said; the bike looks good, but lets not lie to ourselves about it.

    Spencer – I checked out your site. Keep up the good work.

  9. Pingback: Weight Weenie Fixed gears??? « iMiNUSD

  10. Pingback: Pastinya enteng abis… « Fixed->you's Blog

  11. Anyone know what kind of stem that is on there?

Leave a Reply

